Meet Steven.

It may seem as if sexual racism is a crazy concept. In the next couple of days, I will be talking to a couple of guys and ask their experiences with dating apps and their views on sexual racism.

Name Steven Sheik Hossen

Age 23

What is your ethnicity? Australian- Mauritian

How effective is dating apps in your social/love life? Dating apps are not very effective for me. I’ve never had a partner.

What are your general thoughts on sexual racism? I hate racism in general.

What 5 words would you use to identify yourself? Mauritian, Nerd, Fighter, Cheeky, Sweetheart. 

How do users on these dating apps identify you as? Many users on dating apps try to identify me as black or Indian

Have you experienced sexual racism on dating apps? I experience sexual racism on a regular basis.

What’s the most hurtful thing someone has said to you on these dating apps? “You’re a dirty, smelly Indian. Take a shower”

Do you identify yourself with one or more of the tribes? I do not identify with any of the tribes and I don’t want too

One thought on “Meet Steven.

  1. thefirstpriority October 19, 2016 / 1:29 am

    I can’t believe people said that about him! It’s a shame that this happens on a day to day basis for people. Thanks for raising awareness to this issue!

    Like

Leave a Reply

